Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not others Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subject that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

At present, there are many people who suggest that the governments should provide funding for students who study subjects that are essential for society. I totally contradict this practice as there are more disadvantages than advantages. Firstly, providing support for some particular fields, can lead to an excessive workforce in certain subjects; therefore, the competitiveness of job-seeking will dramatically increase. For example, the fresh graduate student will face a hard time in finding a job as there are others who study in the same fields. As the result, this policy can rise up the unemployment rate which the governments also have to solve this issue. Therefore, this policy is unsustainable and could be the cause of other issues. However, many people insist that the government should provide support to the relevant fields in order to increase the population of specialists in specific subjects. Moreover, they explain that this practice can contribute positive outcomes to societies. I totally disagree with this statement as it is unfair to justify which subjects are the certain fields. To support my idea, every field has its own particular significance which can contribute to a positive impact on societies. For instance, the field of Dramatic Arts, which some consider as insignificant subjects, is the fundamental study of human thought and behaviour which can be applied to many other concepts. Moreover, the theatre performance is the method to reflect social issues to the societies which can help to find a solution.  In conclusion, the disadvantages of this policy outweigh the advantages. The main reasons are it will lead to the unemployment problem and it is not able to underestimate any subjects because every subject has played a crucial role in society.