Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that friendship plays a pivotal role in our lives. While some people believe that it is better to be with friends with the same opinions, I would argue that it is having friends with different views is more significant. On the one hand, knowing friends with a similar mindset might be a healthy friendship. This is because if someone finds friends share their same thinking and ideas, there will be fewer disputes and they will be keen on spending more time with them. Therefore, they may have many good times to reminiscence. Secondly, friends with the same opinions may be useful in facing some challenges. To illustrate this, if someone is interested in starting a new project, for instance, they will seek support from friends who may mitigate any difficulties that can hinder starting a project. On the other hand, the first reason why I think that knowing friends with opposing outlooks is important is that it will broaden one’s horizons. The reason for this is that when people argue with others, everyone will express their point of view clearly. Moreover, this will allow everyone involved to know different ideas that will be less likely to know if they argue with friends with the same thinking. What is more, friends who have different ways of thinking can be crucial in helping one another to avoid making mistakes. This is because most people usually are unable to spot the incompleteness of their thinking and, therefore, a friend with an opposing view will be more likely to think through a different angle. Thus, it would be easier to make a better evaluations and make the right decisions. To conclude, it is true that friendships that have fewer disputes may be a healthy ones, but friendships that encourage people to challenge one another’s ideas and beliefs can be more beneficial. Therefore, I am inclined to make friends with those who make constructive arguments rather than who simply agree with all the time