Studies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they can get a job when leave prison. Do you agree or disagree?

Many said that educating inmates in prison is the most effective method to reduce the crime levels. Although this way could be associated with some benefits, I believe that the government should implement better alternatives to tackle the problem Admittedly, educating criminals in prisons could be beneficial for alleviating the crime rate. For one thing, education for offenders in prison provides them some fundamental knowledge to pursue higher education programs and may change their awareness. Countries such as Singapore, where to allow prisoners to study during the execution of the sentence, regularly have the lowest crime rate among the parts of the world. For another, offering a learning program in prisons for criminals could be regarded as a way of assisting them to get a job after release from prison. In fact, some prisons enable inmates to learn vocational training such as computer programming, graphic design, which may facilitate them to earn a living. This is particularly important, especially when offenders re-assimilate into society and therefore prevent recidivism effectively. However, there are some reasons why education could not be considered as a proper measure for offenders during their time in prison. Firstly, such a form of education is offered for those who engage in wrongful acts, and therefore this could diminish the crime level to a certain extent. Instead, equipping students with crime knowledge in school will help shape crime prevention thinking and awareness for students, which will significantly reduce crime rates in the long term. Secondly, for some criminals who could not change their minds by educating, harsh punishment or even serving longer sentences would be better. Indeed, for some white-collar crimes who have highly educated and high positions in society, such as lawyers or doctors, there is no point in educating them rather than implementing a policy of zero tolerance. In conclusion, it seems to me that although educating inmates in prison is an optimal way to reduce the crime level, it is not the best solution, as there are more feasible methods that could help such as imposing severe punishments and equipping students with crime knowledge