The use of corporal punishment (physically hitting students) in schools is in decline, yet it should be used to improve behaviour. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is an irrefutable fact that corporal punishment is the strongest deterrent. Several decades ago, it was common for teachers to physically punish students in order to improve their behaviour. However, nowadays, this trend is declining. I personally believe that corporal punishment is not an effective means of teaching good manners. Because, as a result, students may loathe teachers or even worse, take physical punishment as an acceptable practice. Children should not be hit under any circumstances, otherwise, they may grow up and become individuals with mental issues with a tendency to violent behaviour. Although corporal punishment can quickly teach adolescents between good and bad, it detrimentally affects their mental health. For instance, some children may start having low self-esteem, while others may become violent individuals. Moreover, juveniles can accept abusive behaviour as a reality. In the future, these children will more likely become abusive parents, thus, perpetuate the cycle of abuse. Adding further, students should feel safe in their learning environment. If they are afraid that can get hit because of any mistake, they may experience constant stress and anxiety which in turn can hamper their academic performance. As a result of abuse, students can loathe authorities and lose their interest in studying. For example, at school, we had a teacher who could hit any student if he or she were misbehaving. All of us were afraid of our teacher and could never focus on provided lessons. To conclude, corporal punishment has a number of grievous consequences in the long term. Children should learn in an environment where they feel safe to express themselves.