In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone)apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In recent times, mobiles have become more useful than ever and facilitate many use cases such as calls, texts, video conferences, jotting down notes, taking pictures and even making transactions. Some argue that the technological advancement in payment via phones has many drawbacks, however, this essay agrees that the advantages are stronger and will further elucidate the reasons why. The most obvious benefit of making payments via applications on cellphones is that it is extremely convenient. The indispensable need to carry around cash is completely eliminated so individuals do not have to worry about not being able to make purchases solely because they forgot their wallets. Moreover, these simplistic cashless transactions enable people to track their finances more easily. For example, to find out how much was spent in a day or a month, one can just view the statement in the app. Lastly, some latest software even provide the option of centralised payment, for instance, all the credit and debit cards linked under one account so that the user do not need to bring many cards or install multiple applications for separate bank accounts. Admittedly, it is also true that payment via cellphones has its own risks and hinderance. Firstly, cellphones are small, hence, it is prone to theft. In the case of being stolen, the user may have to follow tedious procedures such as contacting the bank to disable the account, reporting to the police and changing passwords of the bank applications. Otherwise, if the passcode were cracked, the balance could be stolen easily. Secondly, despite the popularity among youths, the senior generation may find difficulties adapting to the cashless payments. Moreover, it may cause them distress as they easily forget their passwords or when falling victim to online scams. To summarise, drawbacks such as high risk of theft and distress in older generation are not to be ignored. Nonetheless, the advantages of this new payment method are more robust as it promotes ease of use, enhances people’s cashflow monitoring and the possibility of centralised payment.