Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some educators claim that artistic disciplines might be a requirement in high school because this knowledge will improve students to achieve academic success. I wholeheartedly agree that creativity subjects should be included and this essay will explain the reasons why these classes could make difference in students ' grades. Firstly, art discipline could help the schoolers to better express themselves. Many students are sometimes thought to be shy to speak in public, and there are several classes where learners need to present their work in front of others. Taking theatre classes, students could learn how to feel confident, improve their body language, and speak clear and audible. Therefore, the student’s grades will overall increase, even in the traditional classes. Secondly, art increases creativity and imagination because it requires different parts of the brain to work, which is referred to as illogical brain. Some topics in school are extremely abstract, such as, microbiology, chemistry and physics. Therefore, individuals who have the ability to imagine these abstract concepts certainly will perform better in school. Finally, non-exam classes are also a great opportunity for teenagers to develop their social skills and destress. Actually, pupils deal with many types of stress in high school: how to find friends, how they look, and if they will be accepted by their classmates. So, art-based courses could also help them boost their confidence, relax and find new passions. To conclude, some people believe there are more benefits to adopt these creative classes as compulsory than keep them out of curriculum. The pros are undeniable for students and for the school.