Fossil fuels are essential for producing electricity, powering industry and fueling transportation. However, one day we will reach a point when all the world’s fossil fuels have been depleted. How can we conserve these resources? What are some alternatives to fossil fuels?

Present-day, the world is entirely reliant on oil, coal and natural gases, especially for power generation, travel requirements and energy businesses; however, there will be a time that all these resources have been outright used up. Therefore, it is of vital importance to preserve these non-renewable sources by adapting energy-efficient approaches and reducing the number of vehicles on the road while introducing renewable sources such as solar and wind as an alternative. To begin with, fossil fuel consumption can be minimized by pursuing more energy-saving endeavours and promoting people to use public transportation or other means instead of private cars. Reducing the number of cars could significantly reduce the usage of fossil fuels and, hence, developing public transportation should be acknowledged. Moreover, adapting to energy-efficient methods such as exemplary insulations and replacing conventional appliances with inverters could have a great reduction of these non-renewable resources. For example, scientists have claimed that the installation of inverter appliances at home can reduce the electricity consumption per capita by 70%. In addition to this, governments need to cooperate so that research into renewable sources is properly funded as alternatives for non-renewables. The central reason behind this is renewables like solar and wind are readily available in the environment and already proved to be the most environmentally friendly and economical solutions which have the greatest possibility to provide electricity to the entire nation. Thus, the generated electricity would be far more sufficient to compensate for the power generation as well as transportation by means of electric cars or vehicles. For instance, the UK government has claimed that using wind power could meet the 20% of the UK's current power demand. To conclude, fossil fuels are imperative for electricity generation, energy industries and transportation; nevertheless, the world only has limited resources to cater for the demand. Pursuing energy-conscious approaches and encouraging people to use fewer vehicles would conserve these fuels; however, adapting to natural resources would be far more beneficial as a better alternative.