Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume to less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

A large of number of nutrient products have high glucose level, which is the cause of many health issues. Some believe that a lift in the prices of such sweet products ought to be mandatory in order to discourage people from consuming them. I strongly disagree with this view on the grounds that it will not have the desired effect on sugar consumption. Firstly, similar cases of using price as a factor to reduce consumption of unhealthy products have all failed miserably. Consumer behaviour is affected by number of variables, and price is definitely one of them. However, when it comes to products that stimulate an addictive behaviour the impact of price raise is minimal. The most notable examples are alcohol and tobacco. Many countries have already implemented various taxes and price hikes on these products, but did not manage to reduce consumption to healthy standards. Therefore, we need to look at sugary products the same way. Although they may not seem as unhealthy and detrimental as cigarettes and alcohol, they create the same effect on the brain when it comes to consuming them. Secondly, as many food and drink manufactured goods contain high level of sugar, raising the prices would create an economic backlash. A typical family’s basket of goods will certainly have a good number of products that are considered as sugary and thus unhealthy. If the price of all these goods are raised, the country will experience an inflation. Therefore, high sugar consumption is too widespread today to be tackled with such measures. To summarize, food and drinks that are deemed as unhealthy due to high sugar level are very common in every day’s diets. Some suggest a price raise to reduce glucose consumption. In my opinion, however, reducing the consumption of these products is not possible by increasing their prices.