Improvements in health, education and trade are essential for the development of poorer nations. However, the governments of richer nations should take responsibility for helping the poorer nations in such areas. To what extent to you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Enhancement in areas such as healthcare, education and commerce are necessary for progress of developing countries. Meanwhile, more prosperous countries ought to assist the poorer nations in these areas. I generally disagree with this opinion in that every government is responsible for the well-being of their people, regardless of their wealth and global status. Although it is virtuous and amiable for richer governments to help poorer ones in development, they are not responsible for other nations ’ advancements. Wealthier countries could assist developing nations by providing expertise or blueprints of progress in different areas, but they should not take direct responsibility in moving these aspects forward. This could even be deemed as meddling in foreign affairs, and it could raise questions about the independency of the country receiving aid. Moreover, the developing countries need localized knowledge and expertise for sustainable and long-term progress and not just foreign intervention. For example, many African countries suffer from lack of sufficient healthcare system. Not only does this need funds and foreign expertise, it also needs local trained professionals and executives. Nevertheless, improvements in such areas in poorer nations could benefit the world at large and therefore it is in the interest of richer countries. Considering the fact that economy is a global and inter-related structure, any enhancements in the less developed nations will eventually have positive impact for the developed countries. For instance, a stable economy with a reliable health system will reduce migration from less developed countries; an issue that wealthier countries are spending millions to tackle. In conclusion, richer countries should be advised not to take any responsibility in the development of poorer nations ’ infrastructure and economy. However, it is beneficial for them to provide offshore assistance and expertise for long-term sustainability.