In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasis that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Many companies today often focus on the uniqueness of their products in their advertisements. This is due to high competitive business environment, and I believe it could have positive impacts on economy at large. Brands need to ensure that their products or services differ from others so consumers would choose them instead of their competitors. This is referred to as a Unique Selling Point in advertising. For instance, when purchasing a new exercise equipment customers are faced with plenty of different brands that offer similar products. However, one of them runs advertisements on TV that emphasizes on new lower back exercises that helps with back pain, and that is what one customer has been interested in for some time. Had the firm not made what is new about their products bold in their advertisements, the customers would not have been persuaded to buy that particular one. Hence, in the long-run businesses are pushed into providing new features to increase their revenue and therefore it could generally be a positive phenomenon. With every brand offering its Unique Selling Point, customers have variety of choices and the liberty of deciding which one suites their needs and wants. Also, having something special and new about products stimulates more sales and creates growth in markets and industries. To summarize, most firms like to make sure that their advertising focuses on the new and unique features of their products and services on the grounds that they are competing against other brands. Furthermore, this could have positive impacts for consumers and companies