Despite improvements in vehicle technology, there are still large numbers of road accidents. Explain some of the causes of these accidents and suggest some measures that could be taken to address the problem.

Important advancements have been made over the last decade in the car industry, especially innovations in driverless cars. Regardless, the rate of road collisions has remained the same or even increased in some countries. This essay will examine what are the main reasons for this particular tendency and how it could be solved. There are some causes stemming from government policy. First and foremost, the main culprit of car accidents is increasing speed limits. Indeed, there is robust evidence that a slight increase in speed results in a higher likelihood of killing a pedestrian or car passenger. In Russia, for example, last year, 40% more people were killed because of cars than in 2019. Another reason is the failure during the process of planning transport infrastructures. There are many cases while pedestrians were injured because of the poor visibility in the road while the turn of the road is too sharp. However, governments could easily impose some rules regarding these two issues. Given the clear evidence in favour of decreasing speed limits, governments could contribute to this problem by simply setting more strict policies that decline the average speed of cars in the area. Also, immense investments are needed in order to adjust road and infrastructure in general. Thus, reorganising some dangerous areas, where probably many accidents have already happened, a pedestrian death count could decline significantly. In conclusion, even though the increasing quality of cars on the road can not completely prevent collisions since they are mostly associated with unbelievably high car speeds and adverse road systems, governments are able to help; therefore, by introducing new rules and finance some additional work for the road systems, many lives could be rescued.