To be labelled a ‘Work of Art’, a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled ‘masterpieces ’ whilst true works of art pass unnoticed. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the present era, the taste of people regarding artworks have immensely changed resulting in many ordinary art pieces to be entitled as masterpieces while true pieces go unnoticed for the lack of evaluation amid thousands of them. The essay below tends to explain why I agree with the aforementioned context. To begin with, nowadays, people are extremely busy in living their own lives, thereby, significantly dwindling the number of art loving people. To illustrate, the burden of work and the will to have a luxurious life is so immense on the public's shoulder that going to museums or art galleries seem apathetic to them. A huge proportion of common people feel buying these creative works to hang on their house's walls and preserve in showcases is a huge waste of their hard-earned money. They think it only suits the affluent people. In addition, folks these days, do not have great knowledge about all these. Consequently, any painting that has little colours is appreciated and liked by the public. Thus, busy schedules, desire to not waste money and less knowledge have caused ordinary pieces of art to be labelled as masterpieces. Furthermore, the lack of acknowledgement by the public, have generated the feeling of apathy in many famous and talented artists. For instance, indifference towards this profession has caused these artists to abandon that occupation and choose other careers in their life to earn money and to become successful. Moreover, artworks are taught in schools as an extra-curricular activity and there is no added importance to it, because the number of competitions is very less, therefore, nobody is interested in joining it. Hence, the rise of the feeling of apathy in artists and the dwindling rate of competitions have lead to true works of art go unnoticed. To conclude, the essay explains the reasons for my agreement to the context that in present days, ordinary pieces of art are labelled as masterpieces, whilst true works of art go unnoticed. Because folks are busy with their works lives and consider it a waste of money, also, they do not have much knowledge about all these. Likewise, artists are loosing interest because of less competition.