Today we can see excessive consumption of natural resources such as air, fresh water, oil and so on. The usage is increasing at a very dangerous pace and is already reaching critical levels. What are the reasons contributing to this? What should be done to minimise the effects?

Over the last years, the scarcity of natural resources has become a vigorously discussed issue. The rapid growth of the world's population has led to excessive consumption of water, fossil fuels, oils, and the like. This phenomenon is degrading the quality of life of many people around the world. The following paragraphs will discuss the reasons for this issue in detail and propose remedial measures. The main reason for the scarcity of natural resources is the increase in population. Nearly 8 billion people need to eat food and drink water. People are main consumers of raw materials. For example, individuals consume oil, to drive their cars to work; forests, like furniture in their houses; water, to take showers and irrigate. Many underdeveloped and developing countries are already facing the scarcity of water. Another reason for resources depletion is industrialization. Manufacturers, willing to cater for the demand of more than 7 billion people, use fossil fuels as an energy source, water and many more resources depending on the industry. However, this issue can be defeated by taking potential actions. First of all, people should be educated about the threat of raw materials scarcity. Incrased Increase public awareness can help to save water, oil, and fossil fuels. For instance, people can take shorter showers, irrigate their plants more efficiently using modern technologies. Secondly, the government should encourage people to buy environmentally friendly materials, to recysle and reuse everything. People should understand that by going solar they can even save money on energy. To conclude, the depletion of natural resources is a complex issue with a host of factors. Starting from individual consumption to manufacturing. Nonetheless, people and governments can put their best feet forward together to efficiently tackle this issue.