Some people are of the opinion that women should play an equal role in police or military forces like the army. Others believe that this work is unsuitable for women. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

When it comes to some brutal kind of jobs, like military service or police, a certain proportion of people believe that women should be equally considered to take such positions as men because they already have equal constitutional rights in all other aspects. Their opponents, who argue that female organism is usually much weaker than that of male subjects, making women out of consideration for heavy physical labor, tend to overlook the fact that for the jobs in question there is no longer need to have physical superiority. On the one hand, in the majority of democratic countries, women have been enjoying equal rights as men for decades. Were it about parenting obligations or access to education, any kind of preference based on the gender of a candidate is considered as discrimination. It is thus a matter of law to give women the same right to apply for the jobs which were typically occupied by men, so that they were able to compete for these positions under the same conditions and be judged based on their qualifications. Leveling a playing field, in turn, will be beneficial for those who hires, since this will enable them to select best candidates based on their merits. On the other hand, it cannot be denied that in general men surpass women in terms of strength and stamina – features that used to be crucial for satisfactory performance in male occupations. For instance, troops have been always staffed with men only in order to get the upper hand in a battle. With the advance of sophisticated modern technologies, however, the importance of individual physical dominance has been minimized, giving women with competencies in certain spheres a chance to be suitable for such a brutal work. This has become possible for the fact that most of the duties related to weightlifting are now automated and delivered by robots with no human involved. To conclude, women can make a perfect fit even for used-to-be ultimately male occupations. Not only do they have legal rights to contest for any jobs on an equal footing with men, but it also might not be already necessary for the occupation to look for physically strong and resilient candidates to ensure excellence.