Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Contemporary modes of conversation have made it unnecessary to send letters nowadays. I completely agree with the statement. In my opinion, because of the latest technology and, internet it is much easier to send anyone any message than writing and sending correspondence, which takes more time to reach the destination and is costlier. Firstly, because of the latest technological innovations in smartphones and the internet, it has become much easier nowadays to send information with the click of a button. Gone are the days of going to the post office, waiting in line, buying stamps and sending the letter which forever took to reach the destination. Nowadays, you can send a note in the form of SMS, Whatsapp chats or even E-mails. Moreover, not just locally, you can do it internationally too within seconds. This is particularly effective when you are trying to reach someone in case of an emergency. For instance, recently, I wanted to reach out to my friend to inform him about the passing of one of our dearest friends. I was able to do that in 5 minutes with the help of Whatsapp as compared to earlier days, where it would've taken forever to reach him. Secondly, since telecom companies keep coming up with cheaper data plans, sending messages via Emails or SMS have become way cheaper. On the other hand, writing a letter and sending it to someone, involves the cost of the letter, stamps as well as the cost of the post office. For instance, when I was a kid, my father wanted to send a small congratulatory message to my uncle. The letter itself was only 1 page long, but he ended up spending 100 Rs for sending the letter. To conclude, current innovations in communication have made it easier to communicate with anyone at anyone and at a cheaper cost, which has made letters obsolete.