Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think that international news as one of the school subjects. What do you think? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It was suggested by some people, that global news should be added to the secondary school programme as one of the subjects, others argue that studying news during some classes is enough. In my opinion, that some the international news could be beneficial to read and study for children, both in academic and practical use. In this, case teachers have to educate their students to carefully choose what to read and critically judge data from the press. Firstly, understanding relevant global issues are very important for critical thinking and general vision. For example, such topics as climate change, social and political researches, scientific breakthroughs can add valuable knowledge for a basic school programme. Many scientific, environmental magazines are actually very popular among teenage literature in my county. Moreover I think that elder children tend to be more interested in politics and social problems, as there are a rise in the number of young activists and politicians in recent years across the globe. In addition, I think that students should read and research this information voluntarily because this will motivate them more rather than obligated tasks with exercise, tests and rating. As an alternative, in secondary schools teachers could tasking students to present a relevant topic from international news to profound their knowledge and create a habit of researching that will help them in further education. However fake or one-sided news is more and more common nowadays, therefore teachers have to navigate youngers how to receive and analyse data from the press, both from local and international news.