Despite improvements in vehicle technology, there are still large numbers of road accidents. Explain some of the causes of these accidents and suggest some measures that could be taken to address the problem.

Road accidents today take a shockingly high number of lives every day around the world. Althoguh technological enhancements have well improved driving experience, they have yet to omit hazardous incidents. There are numerous reasons that lead to accidents, and this essay will elaborate on them, as well as some measures that can be taken to solve the issue. To begin with, road accidents occur for various reasons involving drivers and regulatory bodies that govern the traffic. First and foremost, it is well accepted that the major reason for car accidents is speeding. Drivers who pass the speed limit may have a difficult time controlling their vehicle at any time. Another reason for this, is careless driving by some. It is not solely drivers who speed who impose the threat of accidents, but drivers who do not follow the rules or are not sufficiently skilled can also cause accidents. In addition, in some countries there are road designs that are not standard and could cause confusion for drivers. Solving these problems is possible by applying some of these recommendations. Firstly, the price of speed tickets should be hiked. Penalising drivers who surpass the speed limit at each lane with a lofty amount can have a huge impact on the number of road injuries. Secondly, training centres need to implemet more rigid discipline for new drivers. Simultaneously, longer hours of training should be required to obtain a driving license in order to make sure more drivers acquire the necessary theoretical and practical knowledge and skills. Lastly, faulty road designs and signs must be dealt with. To summarize, vehicle accident is in fact one of the most detrimental occurance globally. Science and technology has evolved significantly over the years, and vehicle industry has enjoyed many noble concepts. However, accidents still happen on a daily basis due to human mistakes and poor regulation. In order to tackle this issue, governments ought to implement more strict laws on driving, and remove faulty designs in urban areas.