In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, one of the most controversial issues is that whether it should be spent money on existing public transportation or new and fast railroad lines. I strongly believe that it should be invested in current public transport in the cities more than building new railway lines between them. Both these points of view will be addressed in the following paragraphs. Public Transportation has always been crucial for cities that have a noticeable population. This kind of transportation means have extremely constructive facilities. For example, it has been not only time-consuming, affordable and safe but also environmentally friendly. In fact, subsidizing public transit and gaining a proper transportation system can also figure out a solution for traffic jams during rush hours. These remarkable features can convince governments to assign more money, more subsidies and impose fewer taxes on them simultaneously; However, requiring a high initial budget for purchasing BRTs and Buses to name a few, and high maintenance’s expenses could create a negative self-image of this mode of transportation for authorities. On the other hand, spend money on the new railroad line is more likely to enhance the LOS (Level OF Service) of the rail network acceptably. It can probably be occurred by decreasing trains’ volumes of intercity on the network. Although constructing new high-speed lines would boost up commuting pace, decline travel fairs and air pollution properly, but it needs a great deal of money to buy locomotives and their infrastructures. Indeed, it is quite demanding that decision-makers drive governments to invest in this subject. In conclusion, in my perspective, the advantages of investing in current public transportation can be more efficient than spending money on making high-speed lines although bearing these new lines of high-speed rails could be effective for intercity commuters.