Some people say that educational qualifications are the key to a successful life. Others say that they are not necessary. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Having a successful life is a general goal for the majority of people, but the path to follow is not always clear. Although highly qualified professionals appear to have some advantage over the rest, I believe that focusing only on the academic field is not enough in order to achieve success. The twenty-one century has lead to undeniable technological developments which support the idea that educational qualifications are the most important aspect for success. For example, in today's world, anyone who dreams about developing a career needs to attend University. In addition, success is often linked to the idea of uniqueness or expertise, so in order to get it, an in-deep knowledge of the field is mandatory. As a consequence, it is reasonable that the concepts of qualifications and successful life are usually seen together. However, only focusing on the academic field can be jeopardizing as other skills can even be more important than a PhD. For example, developing a creative character is a must for anyone who desires to achieve success. In times when everything appears to be already invented, the ability to think outside the box and come up with original products worths more than any degree. Moreover, social skills are essential these days because any project needs teamwork and positive leadership to stand out. In fact, many successful businessmen built their empires relying on their innovative minds and lacking any educational qualifications. To sum up, even though education provides a fundamental starting point in order to achieve a successful life, it might not be enough if is not complemented with mental and social skills.