Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the technological modern world, letter writing is obsolete in recent times because we can communicate via state-of-the-art devices like mobile phones. Although it is debatable that whether modern communication has made writing letters unnecessary. This essay will provide some reasons and examples to support my opinion, why writing letters is no longer essential due to modern communications. Firstly, recent ways of communicating include phone calls, e-mail writing and text messages which not only save time but also provide the convenience of quick responses. It saves time for buying letters, writing and posting them through postal services. For example, you do not need to wait for days for the letter to arrive to know your interview outcome. So, e-mail writing can replace letter writing to speed up the process without changing the purpose and providing ease of doing. Secondly, letter -writing involves the use of resources such as paper, transportation and manpower which are not observed in the latest communication ways or devices and ultimately costs extra money. For instance, tonnes of paper is required for letters and needs to go through recycling every year. Hence, the least use of letters is adapted to save money and reduces paper waste. In conclusion, the evidence and examples above clearly state that modern communication can serve the purpose of letter writing in a much better way and is being chosen by many nowadays. It is not a secret that letter writing is going to obsolete in nearest future and modern communication techniques are replacing it.