Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, Employers sometimes ask the candidates applying for jobs about their personal information like their interests and hobbies and their marital state. While some people claim it is not necessary to know this type of information, it is my opinion that this information is worthwhile and relevant. On the one hand, knowing the personal information of a new candidate might be a privacy intrusion. This is because there are some people who are private persons; that is, they do not feel safe sharing their personal information with strangers. Thus, these people, may find it unprofessional to ask about their personal lives when applying for a job. Secondly, all companies save their employees’ personal information in a computer system, and they may be at risk in case of not securing these data. For instance, if someone managed to hack a company’s database, this will lead to an undesirable consequence for its employees. On the other hand, I believe that knowing the personal information of a new candidate is crucial to find the suitable candidate for a job and provide the best work environment for them, too. The reason for this is that personal information like marital status can be an indicator of accepting working in unusual conditions. For example, if someone is single, he will be more likely to accept jobs that require frequent travelling. What is more, knowing someone’s hobbies and interests is essential to know more about his mindset. This is because some jobs require certain skills like analytical skills and if some candidate is interested in playing chess, for instance, they would be fit. Moreover, this type of information can determine whether a new employee will be deal with and communicate easily with current employees, or not. In conclusion, there is a possible privacy concern for asking about personal information when interviewing and in some situations they may lead to negative outcomes, but finding the right job that fits a job seeker marital state and mentality is more beneficial. Therefore, I am inclined to support the idea of interviewers asking about personal information.