Scientists have been warning for many years already that in order to protect the environment people should use less energy. However, most people do not change their ways of living. What is causing this behaviour? How can people be encouraged to change?

Humans have known environmental problems which have increased throughout the period. Although they realise this concern, few people are constantly living the same lifestyles. There are several reasons for this behaviour why electricity is over-consuming. The causes and the solutions will be outlined in the following paragraphs. People overuse the electricity due to many reasons. First, they are obsessed with convenience and the rapidity. For example, they always turn on the air conditioner all day with either hot or cold weather, using the microwave to heat processed food for speed time up. Sometimes they do not bring a canva bag to the supermarket because of their habit. Another reason, seeing this problem as a tiny problem because they have never met the adverse effect to themselves. They have been living a normal situation while the animal habitats in the North Pole will be vanished by ice melting. Even though we cannot solve the whole challenge, we can find alternative solutions. To begin with, companies have to create an obvious regulation such as Top supermarket has a policy that people need to bring their shopping bag, otherwise they need to pay extra costs. In other words, stores offer rewards to customers as shown by coffee brands Starbuck gives 10 percent discounts for customers who use their own container. Secondly, the government should make people aware of the importance of conserving energy by dealing with the non-profit organisation or celebrities to up-to-date this concern. In conclusion, the obsession with comfort and not being aware of this problem are the two reasons for people's actions. Nevertheless, the authorities and companies have a capability to tackle this concern by taking certain steps.