Many processed foods and ready-made meals contain preservatives and chemicals. What are the advantages to this? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The pre-processed food industry has become an area of contention in many countries. Most of them have preservatives and additives in their contents. Although these chemicals extend the shelf life and make the food appealing to consumers, they pose a serious threat to public health. I personally believe that producers should be restricted from adding synthetic ingredients into nourishment. Adding preservatives into the food we eat can help to keep it fresh for a long. These chemicals usually contain acids or sugar that kill bacterias and fungus, thus, preventing them from spoiling. As a result, bread does not get mouldy, fruits stay fresh along with other products that stay unspoiled, all thanks to preservatives. This also helps to alleviate the problem of hunger. Because without preservatives, a lot of food would be wasted. Another synthetic additive, sodium nitrate helps to make foodstuff more appealing for customers. For example, ham and other meat products get a nice, aesthetic pink colour after adding sodium nitrate. However, all these ingredients are hazardous for human being's health and cause the development of diseases like cancer, obesity, diabetes, allergy and the like. Additives are scientifically produced in laboratories, to mainly boost the company sales. Unfortunately, processed food manufacturers' primary goal is getting more revenue rather than caring for the end customer's health. For instance, sodium nitrate is proven to develop cancer cells in the human body. Nonetheless, foodstuff producers keep injecting it into ham only because it helps to maintain its pink colour. To conclude, I personally believe that synthetic ingredients in processed food lead to grievous consequences in the long term. They cause cancer and other diseases.