Some people say that supermarkets and manufactures have a responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging on the products they sell. Others say that it is the responsibility of consumers to avoid buying products which have a lot of packaging. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

certain groups of individuals believe that it is the primary responsibility of the consumers to avoid products with plastic packaging whereas others believe that it is the sole responsibility of the manufacturing units.In my viewpoint, a balanced approach is mandatory to resolve this issue. To begin with, In today's modern world supermarkets plays a pivotal role in the shopping stuff of daily need.The biggest advantage of shopping from such places is that all the things we need are easily available at one place but it comes with a major drawback it's enormous selling of food items in packets. For instance, a survey conducted by marketing analytics of the US reveals that packaging done to preserve or increase shelf life releases certain harmful ingredients which are quite detrimental to health. Secondly, awareness by the public and private organisations should be created among the general public to avoid the materials sold in these packets which are made up of plastic. Further, more emphasis should be laid on adopting healthy ingredients which are beneficial for the public in the long term. For instance,initiatives by the Indian government has lead to reduced consumption of products available which are not good for health. Hence a bilateral approach would be crucial to solving this problem at the grass-root level and incorporation of the general public is important and make them aware by various awareness programmes. In a nutshell, a balanced approach is mandatory for resolving this problem.Cumulative steps both by consumers and manufacturing plants should be taken to halt this trend.