It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Throughout the history of science, it has been a controversial question that nature or nurture is more important in human behavioral and psychological development. Scientists have been conflicting about the effects of genetics and the environment on human beings for years. Some people consider that talents in sports and music are down to a child’s natural ability, whereas others believe that any person can become good at sports or music through education. In my opinion, both genetic factors and education have a great impact on success. On the one hand, genetic predisposition will be useless in situations where there is a lack of teaching, guidance, and practice. On the other hand, if a sportsperson or musician wants to perform at high levels, they should have appropriate genes for the field which is belonging. If you want a baby to talk, you first must teach the words. Likewise, you first must teach someone how to run and kick the ball, thus he is able to play football. Education plays a significant role in getting people to access knowledge to do something they want to specialize in. It gives them not only the required information but also instructs them how to repetitive practice properly which has an influence on gaining experience essential to become an expert. Furthermore, taking education makes discovering the potential for professional skills possible. For instance, children who have long and flexible fingers will not be good musicians, if they do not have an opportunity for piano tuition. However, when they take a music course and have a chance to play piano, they might realize their ability. In terms of talent also being called gifted, some people believe that God has gifted talented one’s abilities to him. Scientifically, talented people ’s gene codes are identified in the womb. Therefore, innate capacity is as important as training for developmental outcomes in sports or music. Especially in elite sports levels, initial conditions defined in our genes which are having a proper height or weight, flexibility, muscle distribution, intelligence, gender, and hereditary background make a difference. According to some research, genetically non-advantageous people are not more successful than advantageous ones even if they put in the same effort. Take an example, both two gymnasts who have flexible and strong muscles do exactly the same exercises that their coach thought. While one of them can do difficult motions or shows movements more aesthetically and straight, thus win the Olympic medal, the other who does not have lucky genes and ancestors can not. In conclusion, the education process is as considerable as genetic factors to reveal a talent for sports or music. People can develop themselves with practice, but learnable skills are limited. The innate potential is necessary to become a good sports person or musician.