In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Unlike most of Asian countries, not only in Britain but many Europe nations, old people are taking care by nursing homes. In my opinion, it is a right thing that government should pay the fees for this. This essay will show my thoughts in this topic. First of all, Britain has a high tax rate that citizens have to pay. It takes part in the unemployment, retirement, and medical insurance to take care of themselves when they get older. By this, they work hard and earn their own credit to be take care of later, lift up the responsibility for their children. It is also a good plan for youngsters to work hard to get ready for their future. The government just plays the part to distribute the investment when taking the tax, and give back to them when they are aged. Secondly, British does not have the big-family culture to share the house within 3 generations like Asian. By that, it is hard for them to give care to their parents or grandparents. In addition, nurses have better skills to give elders treatments when they need. So that it will be more comfortable for all. For example, in Vietnam, grandparents stay with the family to take care of their grandchild while their parents are at work. They might not have enough time to rest, and think about themselves even when they had worked for the whole life. In conclusion, it is fair for elders to fully rest and have a good retirement after several years of working. They should be taking care by anyone, including the government.