In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Transportation is one of the pillars of infrastructure, and the topic of how it should be developed has been discussed by many. With the introduction of rapid inter-city trains, many tend to believe that governments ought to invest more in new railway systems, while others still view current public transport as a priority. Personally speaking, I firmly support the former view on the grounds that it is generally a more sustainable plan of action; however, existing public transport should not be forgotten. On the one hand, investing in fast trains is a wiser decision for the future. Firstly, unlike public transport vehicles, such as cars and buses, rapid trains produce a minimal amount of pollution. To illustrate, automobiles are responsible for emitting around half of the carbon dioxide in the world today, whereas fast inter-city trains, often called “bullet trains ”, run on electricity that is far less harmful to the environment. Secondly, these trains are built to relocate large numbers of people as compared to existing public transport. A single train, running let’s say between Paris and Geneva, can accommodate a few hundred passengers, and reach its destination in less than an hour. Therefore, investment in these trains will definitely bring about major benefits. On the other hand, public transportation in most countries requires serious enhancements. Considering the fact that this mode of transport, which includes buses, cars and subways, is still highly popular among urban citizens, they do not receive sufficient funding and attention. For instance, in many major cities in the world, such as New York, the subway system is in dire need of proper improvements, while millions ride on these trains every week. Furthermore, neglecting inner-city public transport that assists a large proportion of the population commute to work every day could have grave consequences on economic growth, as well as the environment. As an example, more people would have to drive to work which causes pollution and traffic congestion. In conclusion, there is a dispute on whether more money should be spent on fast trains that move between cities or currently available public transport. In my view, fast trains can have a profound impact on the future of transportation, while public transport is used by millions every day, thus should be upgraded accordingly.