Many people are afraid to leave their home because of crime. Some believe that more action should be taken to prevent crime. While others feel that little action can be done to stop crime. What is your view?

Crime nowadays is at an all-time high and consequently, most people prefer to stay at home and prevent any criminal activity that they may be subjected to. There are opinions that promote the possibility of some action that can be taken to stop lawlessness from increasing further. The opposite point of view that hardly anything can be done to keep misdeeds at bay is also a prevailing thought. This essay will discuss these perspectives and present a personal opinion as well. On the one hand, there is a lot that governments, communities and individuals can do to reduce criminal activities. This is because they have resources, people, security services and gadgets which can be brought to bear on the problem. For instance, the police force which can be deployed in strategic places will be a preventive measure. Additionally, communities can form gated societies, employ security services, over and above the installations of alarm systems and CC TVs by individuals in their households. These kinds of measures have helped quite a lot in the reduction of petty crime. On the other hand, there are certain kinds of criminal activities which are done on a large scale at a societal level, which are caused by problems that are deeply rooted in the culture of a society. For example, the widespread issues of drug addiction and crimes associated with it have to do with social issues like unemployment of major sections of the population, and the greed, corruption and heartlessness of criminal cartels. The government can do little to eradicate this problem unless it addresses the core issues that plague its citizenry. In this context, the efforts to be rid of these harmful activities are expensive and require a long-term commitment by authorities. In conclusion, while it is possible to take substantial measures to reduce common criminal acts at all levels of society, it is virtually impossible to do the same when dealing with widespread national and international acts against humankind. In summary therefore I am of the view that we should continue to do our best and innovate efforts to reduce anti-social behaviour, we also should collaborate with institutions to address basic problems in society like unemployment, to prevent the youth from resorting to a life of crime.