Health experts say that walking is the best form of exercise; however, people now walk less. What could be the reason for this? What might encourage people to walk longer distance?

In the developed world, many people walk less compared to several decades ago. This trend can pose serious issues to health and the environment. All due to the sedentary lifestyle and the development of transport facilities. I believe that if the government takes steps to increase public awareness about the benefits of strolling and provide different campaigns, people will easily be persuaded to have a healthier lifestyle. The following paragraphs will discuss the reasons for this issue in detail and propose remedial measures. To commence, in our contemporary society, transportation facilities are well developed, which renders them as a more convenient and faster alternative to walking. People like comfort, they do not want to walk 30 minutes to their workplace when they can take a taxi which is significantly faster. Similarly, children learn from their parents to use vehicles as means of transportation. Secondly, due to technological development, many people have sedentary jobs. For example, office employees have to sit in front of their computers for the whole day. In terms of a solution, I believe that the government should increase public awareness about the importance of walking. People are not aware that even 30 minutes of strolling per day can significantly improve their mental health and prevent many diseases. Therefore, governments can provide campaigns encouraging people to make healthier choices. For instance, in Uzbekistan individuals can download an application that pays money to individuals for walking over 10 000 steps a day. As a result, numerous adults and children were encouraged to walk more. To conclude, people stopped walking because they do not want to make avoidable efforts. Nonetheless, masses will walk again if they know about the benefits to their health. Consequently, the government and the media play an important role in creating awareness.