Atomic energy is becoming a more and more popular energy source. However, some people argue that nuclear power puts life on the Earth in danger. What is your opinion?

Using nuclear power as an energy resource is arguably becoming more common today. Despite this, some people find atomic vigour destructive and dangerous to our planet. Although I can see some pros in using this type of energy, I think that it can lead to serious consequences. On the one hand, there are some reasons why atomic vigour is currently gaining popularity. First of all, it can be a good way to replace natural resources like coal, oil and gases, which cause air pollution. Moreover, nuclear power plants are cleaner than fossil fuel capacity stations and can be considered as a solution to reduce carbon emissions that cause global warming. One example I read from an article published by New Mexico Tech stated this same argument. Thus, such benefits play a significant role in increasing the use of atomic energy. On the other hand, according to some people, nuclear power threatens the extinction of species, as well as human health. Most nuclear power stations are situated with long bodies of water. Therefore, cooling water discharged from a plant may influence fish habitat and other aquatic life. There is a possibility that if water is too cold, it may kill some aquatic species. Besides, society is at risk of radiation exposure in the event of a nuclear power plant accident. For example, the explosion that occurred in the Chernobyl plant in Ukraine had caused, in addition to deaths of people and other living beings, a huge number of diseases, birth defects and a cancer epidemic. In my opinion, atomic vigour can positively affect some areas of our life. However, the possible negative consequences that it also carries with it make me oppose its use. In conclusion, nuclear technology could be used as an efficient and clean source of energy. However, it may lead to serious and fatal diseases, as well as a decrease in biodiversity.