In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

We see the word 'New' daily in almost every advertisement around us. This will psychologically convince the majority of consumers about their quality. It is true that today more and more companies claim their goods to be new in a specific way in their advertisements. In my opinion, although there may be some merits associated with this, it is a negative trend. On the one hand, society usually assumes that new products have more sophisticated features because of employing newer technologies and that some problems with older products have been resolved in new ones. Moreover, in some production groups, fashion, for example, people make sure that the equipment that they are buying are on new trends. Doing so could be seen as a positive phenomenon from different perspectives. At the same time, a range of feelings, from satisfaction to confidence, may be associated with the idea of buying brand new products. By purchasing new goods, people believe that they are up-to-date, and in turn feel more satisfied. In addition, it brings about some sort of confidence because they believe newer goods are better goods. However, I believe that emphasizing every product as new is an absolute negative trend because it will eliminate the trust in buyers in a way that they realize every product claims to be new; so being new is not an advantage for any device. As an instance, if you want to purchase a washing powder, you would see the word ‘New’ on all of their packages. Not only this, but also people would think that companies are not honest to them as they find no not-new products. In conclusion, though there are some merits associated with this subject, I believe that the demerits of such a movement are by far more than the merits mentioned above. I recommend the advertiser to use those phrases conservatively to prevent customers' mistrust.