Some people argue that the government should give every unemployed person a mobile phone and should make sure they have access to the Internet. They believe this is the best way of using public money to reduce the problem of unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that the unemployed should be provided with mobile phones connected to the Internet. It is the best method to spend taxpayers’ money on mitigating the issues of unemployment. I totally agree with this belief. First, unemployed workers can use the internet to find career opportunities on job search sites and choose the right occupation with ease. They can get comprehensive information online about duties, required qualifications and experiences, working conditions and employee benefits. In this way, it is convenient for them to judge if their qualifications are sufficient so that they can select a career aligning with their interests and competencies or enhance their skills to meet employers’ expectations. Second, lack of knowledge and skills is one of the reasons for unemployment. We are living in the digital era so access to knowledge is greatly improved. There are many learning platforms - Coursera, Udemy, Alison - which offer free online training courses in a wide range of fields so the unemployed can upskill themselves with the classes catering to their needs and get certificates of completion at no cost. Gaining proficiency that meets employers’ requirements makes job seekers more competitive in the job market and get hired easily. In conclusion, I strongly agree that the unemployed should be given a phone with internet access because they can research plenty of jobs online quickly and apply for a position that fits their skills and personalities. Moreover, there are numerous helpful learning resources online to enhance their qualifications and increase their chances of obtaining employment.