In many cities, many people are living in large apartment blocks. Does this accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

An increasing number of towns have led communities to reside in flats. In my opinion, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Although this arrangement is economical for almost all middle class families, it causes people to live in cramped places with potential fire risks. The only advantage of living in apartments is that it is a very cheap and viable option, Urban areas are too densely populated that not everyone will be able to afford a house of their own. In such cases buildings of many floors can accommodate more houses in a very small area of land. For many working professionals finding a place to stay in the city centres near their work is an impossible task, so they are willing to settle down in small one-bedroom or even studios flats. One of the major negative sides of living in apartments is that there are not enough outdoor areas. For families, this can be an issue as this restricts the individual space creating tensions in personal relationships. Furthermore, there wont be enough space to exercise or engage in other activities which is very vital for ones health. The worst disadvantage of such cramped up blocks is the hazard of fire outbreaks. If a particular floor catches fire, it will become difficult for all the occupants above the particular level to escape the fire. Such was the case in Westhall, in which fire claimed 71 lives. The speed with which the fire spread made it impossible for everyone to escape. In conclusion, apartment blocks despite of being economical, offer cramped living conditions with a serious risk of fire.