The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

The rise of tourism has played a major role in promoting English world-wide. It is thought by some people that this would eventually predominate English over other languages which would result in eventual disappearance of the latter. While there are many advantages of having a common language like better understanding between countries as well as economic growth, there are certain draw backs as well. There are several advantages of promoting a single language world-wide. To begin with, one- language would mean one- world, i.e. when the whole world starts speaking one- language there would be more equality. For instance, when all the members of the family talk one- language there would be better understanding among them, keeping them bonded together. Similarly, all the people of the world would come under one umberella. Moreover, this would result in an economic growth. When the barrier of language is pulled down, there would be interconnectedness resulting in flourishment of trade. Increasing trade would ultimately improve the income of the country. It is said that every coin has two-sides, despite of all the advantages there are a few set backs as well. Languages are directly linked to culture, having a single language would eventually replace all other languages, there by replacing their culture. Diversity of culture is one of the joys in the world, different cultures and traditions is what makes it a unique place. Disappearance of them would mean a blandness. Another major draw back is that if the entire world has the same culture, then there won't be anything further to explore in this world. This could lead to a stagnation of tourism. Many countries that are dependent on tourism for their income would face economical difficulty. In conclusion, although there are many plus points in unifying the language we must protect the diverse language, culture and traditions for the upcoming generation to stay rooted to their grounds.