The popularity of dead languages such as Latin and ancient Greek in schools is declining, as many people consider their study to be a waste of time and funding. How does the study of dead languages add to academic and personal development? Why might some people feel that funds could be better allocated?

The interest in learning languages like Latin and Greek, which are out of use, is falling down sharply. Majority of people assume that their study is not a dire necessity and they might be just time and money consuming. This essay will discuss the influences of learning these languages to academic performance and self-development aspects. To start with, Latin and ancient Greek languages are not highly demanded in every field of life. As we all know, all data and paper-materials are translated into many languages, including English and Russian. So, we can easily get access to these websites and gain information on each topic that we need. For example, I came across with list of biology terms when I was poking around the Internet and I realized that all Latin words are translated into English with their definition. What I am trying to say that these kinds of vocabulary sheets help students and teachers to grasp the topic without knowing Latin. Additionally, the process of learning dead languages requires more financial support from authority. Students can not able to study them in the absence of electronic devices including laptops, tablets and other tools. Also, providing teachers and other members of staff with enough salary takes a big amount of money. That is why, it might be better to spend funding to sport sector and extra academic development. To conclude, study of dead languages is not an efficient method to boost students’ both academic and personal progress. So, it appeals to allocate the money to other essential things, that will come handy in real life.