Some people think that formal education should start for children as early as possible, while others think that it should not start until 7 years of age. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays it is hard to imagine a modern society that could live without education. Reading today is one of the most essential skills for getting information and co-operate with others, perhaps its compulsory to expand the knowledge base as early as possible. The answer to the question remains, when should pupils begin formal education? To begin with, most comprehensive schools have preparatory courses for first grade. They introduce the concept of letters and sounds, but at a minimal level. Despite the fact that this base is enough to enter the first grade, the knowledge obtained will not make it much easier for the child to adapt to school. Attending such courses is useful, but will not provide any special benefits. Moreover the most important factor availability for learning is a child's health. Adaptation is a serious challenge even for a well-prepared, strong body. With this level of stress, even a good immune system could fail, and as a result, the first grader will sit at home with colds and infections instead of lessons. An early start in formal education may have confidence to go to school, since in the classroom a child can learn how to behave properly and in a manner of social conversation. Futhermore the child will develop social skills, which in turn will help prepare the child for a tumultuous social life. To sum up, It is safe to say that none of these factors should be relied upon in making a decision. The only thing that matters is how ready your child is for such a major change in his life. Without a doubt, there are children who at 6 years old are already happy and interested in sitting down at a desk.