The growth of online shopping will one day lead to the closure of the shops in cities and towns. Do you agree or disagree

With the advancement in communication technology, the internet is becoming more accessible and cheaper to the public. This provides a new dimension to provide things and services around the world. The rapid growth of online shopping suggests a surge in shops in cities and towns. The cheap and wide-area presence are the two strong pillars that point me to agree with the statement. Firstly, the cost required to set up an online store is much lower than renting a physical store. For instance, the latter requires money for employees, electricity, space and other things, in,contrast the former only needs a server which can either be rented or bought. The cost difference between the two is huge. Thus, internet shops are best suited for not only small and medium-sized companies but also for big multinational companies as they maximise their profits. Secondly, physical shops have a local presence while internet shops have a global presence which provides a wide area of advertisement and customers to the company. For example, a sports goods store located in the middle of a city, they have finest goods and are popular among locals but their popularity is limited to the city only. Due to this limitation, they are restricting their global expansion which could grow the small store to a multinational company. Thus, eCommerce is the best tool for growing entrepreneurs. In conclusion, there are many positive aspects of online stores compared to shops. Customer choice is also one factor that affects the future trend. It could also be possible that some stores go virtual while others remain in real space.