Some people say the Olympic Games are not relevant in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

If sports is a way of life, then the Olympic Games personifies it. There are some who think that the Olympics are losing relevance, whereas others think that they are still significant. Not only this essay will discuss both views, but also it will answer why I support the latter view. I disagree with the argument that the Olympics is losing relevance, as it is still the most famous event of sports in the world. Additionally, it is the largest congregation of competing countries to showcase their advancement in sports. For instance, even in the era of pandemics, Japan again proved to the world that, how important sports are for humankind. Moreover, it brought joy to millions of suffering souls. Also, sports help to bridge gaps among nations. For example, East and West Germany were separate countries, but they still participated in the Olympics as one nation and it paved the way for their integration. Hence, going by the popularity and benefits of organising the Olympics, it can be inferred that the Olympics are here to stay. To conclude, some nations might feel alienated at the Olympics and some sports still can't find their way to it, but, I am of the opinion that the popularity of the Olympics has skyrocketed over the years due to its unifying theme. Thus, the Olympics is a going concern.