In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

A high number of professional sports players are using substances that are illegal, to improve their performance. The primary cause of this phenomenon is increased competition in their field and game pressure, and the most viable solutions are awareness camping of health issues and introducing a strong policy. The usages of prohibited things by athletes have been increasing rapidly in professional games. This is to say that their mind has been shaped in a way that they only seek the ways which will take them to the trophy due to increased competition in their carrier. This results in a catastrophic outcome of losing their normal lifestyle. Secondly, pressuring the players for a desirable result by their coach is being practised for so long. This belief is deeply rooted in the sports field, which will only result in losing the gamer’s ability to perform in a game. For instance, recently in a state karate championship in Nepal, it was evidenced that one of the strong players collapsed while playing due to the huge amount of pressure. One of the most effective solutions to this cause is to aware players and coaches that how bad it is for gamer’s health. They need to realize that it is just a game, and they don’t need to consume prohibited substances to be on the top. Another solution to this cause is to introduce strong laws or policies so that players will be scared to use substances. Doing so will make them prepare that they might end up being permanently eliminated. For example, there was a case in previous Olympics that a player was banned to play series of games due to consuming illegal substances, which set an example to other participants not to do so. In conclusion, an increased trend of improving performance by using prohibited things by professional athletics players is caused by growing competition in sports and pressure due to games, however, it can be mitigated through raising awareness of health problems and making strong laws.