Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that literature is useless for high school students as a studying subject. I totally disagree with this opinion, because books and poems increase teenagers’ emotional intellect and broaden their mind. Literature writings always include life experience and describe emotional aspects of their characters; it can teach young generation important life lessons and help them to understand themselves. It is very efficient way to teach teenagers about their personalities, because they can link themselves with characters of the writings and think about their own decisions in those situations, which leads them to be an adult person. For instance, I and my siblings have been grown on stories about brave Kazakh heroes and their adventures, which made us more confident about ourselves. Literature can also help youths to gain useful knowledge about this world from a variety of spheres, which is extremely important for future life and career growth. A lot of young people often struggle understanding their life path or work place, due to lack of information. However, if they study literature, they will exactly know what kind of job is appropriate for them. Moreover, they can learn skills such as oratory that possibly will make them a better college or manager to work with. Almost every great man or woman used literature for self-education, starting from Napoleon that read more than 100 books in his life, ending with Winston Churchill, whose political views and oratory skills is a result of reading an incredible number of books. In conclusion, literature is the same subject as math or biology, which can teach students to important life skills and make them emotionally stable adults.