Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Several specialists accept that begin learning a foreign language at primary schools is more superior for children instead of secondary school. In my opinion, I think that early language learning can bring about more problems for children compared to any advantages it might bring. Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of junior students learning the not native tongue. Firstly, young children pick up languages much more easily than teenagers. At an earlier stage children are enthusiastic to explore and learn new things. Their brains are programmed to learn their mother tongue which also facilitates learning another language. Secondly, the learned ability to switch from one language to another helps primary school students build concentration skills. Researchers found young students who learn a new language performed better on attention tests. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I believe children could face serious drawbacks from learning a new language. One potentially dangerous problem is that learning a new language at an early age is stressful emotionally and mentally. In early childhood students need learn many different languages with different grammar and pronunciation at the same time. According to Psychology Professor Erika Hoff, author of the book “ Language Development,” learning multiple languages simultaneously limits the number of words that a child can learn in a set amount of time Another obvious issue is that learning a second language in childhood puts extra cognitive strain on the language centres of the brain. This strain affects children differently than would an extra math course in school. In conclusion, in my opinion, the harmful impact on mental health or cognitive development far outweighs any of the minor benefits that could result from children being learning a second language