Many people make friends through social sites and chat rooms. Others believe that it is not a good idea to make friends without meeting them face to face. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Communication through the internet has become an essential part of our lives. It is common to have a pen-friend living in another country without even meeting them. A segment of society is convinced that these kinds of friendships can lead to adverse consequences. Others, however, believe the opposite. The following paragraphs will analyze both views and explain my support of the latter view. The internet makes it possible to find like-minded people and build lasting relationships. More specifically, in online group chats of certain topics, individuals have more chances to meet someone who shares their interests rather than at the workplace. Because the internet connects people from all around the world. As a result of communicating with like-minded people, individuals will less likely fall into depression and feel lonely. Moreover, it is a good opportunity for disabled people to make friends. Later, people engaged in these kinds of relationships can meet each other and become best friends or even a couple. For instance, my friend met her husband on the internet 3 years before meeting him in person. On the negative side, people are different, some may have bad intentions. For example, individuals may become victims of cyberbullying, identity or personal information theft, and etc. It is difficult to identify the bad intentions of others without seeing them. Nevertheless, I believe that vigilance and intelligence can effectively help to tackle this issue. Therefore, people should take basic precocious measures to ensure their financial, mental and physical safety. To conclude, although making friends online has some potential threats, it gives more opportunities to meet good people from other countries. People should be cautious.