Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of the public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present day, the number of diseases caused by the consumption of tobacco and cigarettes has been increasingly popular around the world. In addition, the consequences can be not only in short term but also in long term. Health organizations and governments should invest in campaigns to ban these products and I completely agree with this affirmation. This essay will discuss why these items should be banned and I will explain my point of view. First and foremost, in the past, the habit of smoking was considered normal, and at the same time associated with a status of power. The condition of health and the possible consequences were not relevant to create an awareness knowledge about this appalling habit. Moreover, the large companies and also the mass media promoted this habit in order to raise more money. For example, advertisements were always associated with money, power, fashion cars, and stunning women, because of this, certainly, young ones were influenced. However, with the advances in technologies and medical services people started to realize the real impacts on their health. Nowadays, due to some campaigns, the number of individuals smoking has been mitigating but still is present in people of all ages. The number of cases of lung cancer, skin problems, and other disorders related to the respiratory system is the major diseases resulted from the smoking habit. For instance, some international research shows that the close relatives of a person who smokes are also affected by the presence of chemical components in the air, in other words, no smokers also suffer from the diseases cited. Therefore, there is a need of bringing these negative sides to the light since people are endangering their lives. For these reasons, I totally agree products made from tobacco and cigarettes must be banned from society by governments, resulting in a better quality of life. In conclusion, there are no positive results to the lives of smokers as the impact of diseases is even more drastic. Without the presence of these items, the number of individuals affected by serious diseases would be fewer. This essay discoursed why specific products should be excluded from society and I could explain my decision about this topic.