The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides a cheap and clear replacement for existing energies. The benefits far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many superpowers regard nuclear weapons as a deterrent from provoking the world war. While I cannot deny that there are still shortcomings if this power is not used with due considerations, we should acknowledge that the nuclear has become an inseparable part of our lives after considering it as a low-cost and environmental friendly resource. First off, we can look at the drawbacks that weaponization of the nuclear. It is generally acknowledged that as far back as during the World War II, Americans were the first to master this terrifying energy and then transform it to nuclear weapon. A well-known example is the nuclear bomb which was dropped by the U.S. military over Hiroshima, Japan, leading to a devastating damage on this city and bringing an end of the war. As a consequence, hundreds of people were died or have left permanent impairments. Further, the entire city is polluted by nuclear waste and no longer suitable for human life until last decades. Thus, it is reasonable that people at that age only saw the repercussions brought by it. In spite of I noted above, with the advancement of the chemical science, nuclear power is increasingly prevalent. The electricity generated by nuclear has gradually in place of coal power generation, the contributory factor is that it is purer than coal with moderated usage. To expand this, governments found that it is more affordable than other forms of energies, including wind, solar, and tide, thanks to the enormous power possessed by the atom itself. In brief, the governments are promoting nuclear-powered electricity to the public as well. As I have related, the downsides of nuclear may deserve public attention concerning it be used as an weapon, I still maintain a notion that these shortcomings cannot downplay the great contribution towards environment in the modern era.