WRITING TASK 2 It is generally accepted that families are not as close as they used to be. Give some reasons why this change has happened and suggest how families could be brought closer together.

In recent times it has become a known fact that, before, families were much closer than they are now. There are multiple reasons for this situation, like the fact that the economy has changed so much, and globalization has happened. However, there are certainly solutions for this problem. The main reason for the change that has happened in family bonds is globalization. In fact, nowadays it is much easier to get job offers from other countries or to simply travel and settle abroad, so many people take eagerly these offers and they go live far away from their relatives. Moreover, in the last few years, the economy of several countries has worsened, creating a high rate of unemployment. This means that sometimes adults are forced to move and go live someplace else if they want to give security and better possibilities to their partners and children. For instance, some relatives of mine decided to go to the USA because of the crisis that there was in Italy and that gave them no chance to live safely in their own country. Even though families are now more divided, there are still opportunities for them to be brought closer together. Firstly, we have social media, which are incredibly useful in situations like this. Group chats and video calls could be really helpful to catch up and chat about life and what's going on. Furthermore, I think it could be amazing to do a holiday all together at least once a year so that new memories could be created, while also having the possibility to visit some new places with the people you love. For example, I rented a beach house with two of my cousins, since I don't get to see them often, and we had a great time being together for more than just a few hours. In conclusion, it is true that nowadays you are not that close with most of your relatives, simply because of how society has transformed, but there are always multiple ways to be with them, even if it's just through social media.