All students should study a foreign language in school, starting in their earliest grades. To What extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

It is believed by many individuals that school children should expose to a foreign language other than their mother tongue early on, their academic years. In my opinion, I completely agree with the proposed notion because children have greater learning ability at a very younger age. Moreover, when a foreign tongue is introduced early, they will not feel burdened by an additional subject in secondary school. Children have more potential to learn new stuff at a younger age. This is similar to infants who do not know any word when they are born, but quickly pick it up from their parents and adults. For example, in Sri Lanka, before the 1990s English language was introduced to school children when they were in high school, however, after much researches the educators realized that primary school students were able to grasp it much faster in high school itself. As a result, it is more beneficial to introducing language skills during their young age. In addition, high school students need to learn a plethora of advanced subjects during their academic years. If a foreign language is introduced, in addition to those subjects, it will be an extra burden for them, and they will have no time to master it by the time they are ready to graduate. For instance, the majority of Sri Lankan students do not choose to learn foreign languages such as French, Japanese, when those are introduced to their Ordinary and Advance level curriculum due to the extra effort required to master those languages within a shorter time period. To sum up, children have more potential to learn a new language when it is introduced at a young age. Moreover, it allows them more time to master foreign languages when those languages are introduced during their primary academic years. Therefore, I support the idea of introducing a foreign language to a child when he or she is more adaptable.