Some people do not allow their children to participate in games, sports and competitions unless everyone gets a prize. Others think that children must learn to deal with wining and losing in order to be fully prepared for life. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by a few that the little one should not take part in any extra-curricular activities if there is no reward for all, whereas others opine that taking part is more important than success or defeat. In my opinion, a child must participate in every activity possible regardless of thinking about victory. However, this essay will articulate both aspects of this discussion in the forthcoming paragraphs. To commence with, Is winning that important these days? Firstly, many parents are conscious about the performance of their young ones and feel ashamed if their ward loses in any race or tournament. Besides this, some families reckon that it will lower the self-confidence of their wards and they presume that motivation in terms of reward is important. On the other hand, a group of individuals think that participation is more important than win or lose and I also, agree with this notion. Participating in various activities allow children to inculcate several constructive habits. For instance, an article published in "The Hindu" newspaper revealted that people who take part in sports tournaments are found to be more disciplined and also having the qualities of teamwork, cooperation and leadership. If youngsters are not putting in such a situation, they will not be aware of the importance of winning in their life. In addition, they will not be competitive at all later in their lives and start taking everything casually. Besides this, taking part in championships also enhance their mental health. To sum up, victory or defeat are parts of life, one ought to experience both in life in order to have a balanced mental and physical development. I believe, children must participate in all such activities and it is the duty of parents and teacher to develop positive attitude in wards about these championships. I recommend, that every school should organise extra-curricular activities atleat once in a month and provide every student a fair chance to participate