Many people believe that film is a less important art than other forms such as literature and painting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether a film is regarded as a form of art has become progressively contentious as some argue it is not as important as other elevated mediums like literature and painting. In my opinion, while their viewpoints seem legitimate, the film is certainly a significant art form in the 21st century. On the one hand, the most frequently cited rationale for opposing the importance of the film is its expanding commercialisation. This argument rests on the fact that the primary purpose of this industry is to make money. For example, this can be most apparently seen in myriad blockbuster films like a series of Avengers and Iron Man, which have earned decent returns. Moreover, these movies not only target youths but more importantly cater to their shareholders, who expect tremendous profits from their investment in the tentpole franchises. Thus, the accumulated evidence has reasoned for the low artistic merits of these movies as they purely strike for fan service. On the other hand, albeit conceding the monetary incentive of film, I would still contend that this field had taken over other art forms in the current time. This is predicated based on the assumption that numerous composers, painters and novelists were in high esteem and their works were the centre of popular culture dating back a couple of hundred years ago. For instance, contrary to this is the salient illustration of a declining proportion of writers today. In lieu of writing, they now opt to make films as they can reach a broader breadth of viewers and earn to meet their needs. A prominent movie director and actor JVevermind, who used to be a blog writer, had switched to making films and has created a list of thoughtful works, appealing to mass audiences. Therefore, considering film as an art form confers a valid standpoint as they are now more welcomed by the general populace. In conclusion, whilst film involves financial objectives to a certain degree, it is still worth recognising as a form of art today. In my final thought, artists, in general, should continue to devote themselves to other forms of entertainment in order to encourage the film industry to remain vibrant and innovative.