The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Why this condition happened and what is the effects of this disturbing trend.

The proportion of kids with obesity in the western countries experienced a nearly 20% rise in number for the last decade. In this essay, I will clarify the reasons and consequences for this condition. There are several causes for an increasing incidence of overweight in youngsters. The roots can be divided into two main categories, which are an excessive amount of intake and a drop in their physical activities. Firstly, easy access to unhealthy foods such as readily available fast-food chains will encourage children to eat more than what should be allowed. In addition to it, the high level of unhealthy carbohydrates and fat in those kinds of foods will also trigger the development of obesity. For example, with a lot of burger or fried chicken restaurants surrounding their living areas, it makes parents tend to give them to their kids for daily dining because of their convenience. Secondly, the decreasing activities of children also give a major contribution to their increasing weight. Nowadays, more youth are chained to their gadgets due to the increasing use of the internet. Thus, pupils tend to have a sedentary lifestyle. This type of lifestyle will further decrease the energy output and lead to an increasing number of fat in the body. There are also many negative effects caused by overweight in youth. One of the major downsides is a drop in their health conditions. Excessive weight will cause some major illnesses. For instance, a higher chance of developing diabetes mellitus and cardiovascular disease. Moreover, this condition will also impact the energy to do their daily activities. Youngsters with excessive weight will have lower energy to learn things in school or socialize with their friends. Consequently, there will be a drop in their quality of life. In conclusion, an increasing trend of obese youngsters is caused by several reasons, both internal and external factors. This condition will give a detrimental effect on the life of young populations.