In certain countries, the number of people who use bicycles as the main means of transport is reducing even though it is beneficial both physically and environmentally. What can be the reasons for this change in preference? How can people be encouraged to use bicycles? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Though cycling is fruitful, it is argued that usage of it is on the decline. Not only this essay will answer the reasons behind shifting preferences but also this essay will include the means to get people back on the saddle. To begin with, there are various reasons behind people not using cycles these days as much they were doing earlier. Firstly, as bicycle ride is the second slowest mode of transportation, those in hurry do not like to use it on regular basis. For instance, as per a recent survey of the Times, more than 68% of office goers prefer automatic two-wheelers for commuting to the offices in India. To add, travelling by bicycle mandates people keep pedalling all the time, which is physically demanding for lazy commuters. Thus, they shift to other modes of transportation at their disposal. On the other hand, bicycle riding can really be bliss and the usage of the bicycle can increase if people can be made aware of the benefits of using it. To start, cycling is the best form of exercise since we use the entire body while cycling. Hence, commuters can not only reach their destination but they can burn calories and can tone up their body muscles if they use bicycles regularly. Additionally, cycling is a boon for the environment. During,cycling there is no burning of fossil fuel, which can cut down hazardous pollutants created by the combustion of fossil fuels by automobile engines. A recent study done in Netherland found that if all car users can start using the bicycle for office commutation, overall pollution levels in the country can be reduced by 72% and traffic congestion can be reduced by a whopping 65%. To conclude, because commutation by bike takes time and needs physical exertion there are fewer takers of it. However, it remains the best form of exercise and it can contribute immensely to well being of the environment. Hence, I think that through proper communication of the benefits of cycling, more people can start riding it again.